Click here to go to our Baseball home page!
BaseballChronology Entire Web
AS | Awards | Hall | Leaders | Leagues | Parks | People | Postseason | Seasons | Teams

Who Am I?
I pitched the 13th perfect game in Major League history on the last day of the 1984 season against the Rangers.

Who am I?

Put mouse over "Who Am I" for answer.


TSN Rookie Players of the Years Winners

By Patrick Mondout

In 1961 and from 1963-2003, The Sporting News (TSN) had separate Rookie Pitchers of the Year and Rookie Players of the Years awards. From 1948-1956, 1960, 1962 and since 2004, TSN has had a single Rookie of the Year award.

In contrast to the pitcher awards, many winners have gone on to have Hall of Fame careers.

1957 NL Ed Bouchee AL Tony Kubek
1958 NL Orlando Cepeda AL Albie Pearson
1959 (no award)
1960 (no award)
1961 NL Billy Williams AL Dick Howser
1962 (no award)
1963 NL Pete Rose AL Pete Ward
1964 NL Dick Allen AL Tony Oliva
1965 NL Joe Morgan AL Curt Blefary
1966 NL Tommy Helms AL Tommie Agee
1967 NL Lee May AL Rod Carew
1968 NL Johnny Bench AL Del Unser
1969 NL Coco Laboy AL Carlos May
1970 NL Bernie Carbo AL Roy Foster
1971 NL Earl Williams AL Chris Chambliss
1972 NL Dave Rader AL Carlton Fisk
1973 NL Gary Matthews AL Al Bumbry
1974 NL Greg Gross AL Mike Hargrove
1975 NL Gary Carter AL Fred Lynn
1976 NL Larry Herndon AL Butch Wynegar
1977 NL Andre Dawson AL Mitchell Page
1978 NL Bob Horner AL Paul Molitor
1979 NL Jeffrey Leonard AL Pat Putnam
1980 NL Lonnie Smith AL Joe Charboneau
1981 NL Tim Raines AL Rich Gedman
1982 NL Johnny Ray AL Cal Ripken
1983 NL Darryl Strawberry AL Ron Kittle
1984 NL Juan Samuel AL Alvin Davis
1985 NL Vince Coleman AL Ozzie Guillen
1986 NL Robby Thompson AL Jose Canseco
1987 NL Benito Santiago AL Mark McGwire
1988 NL Mark Grace AL Walt Weiss
1989 NL Jerome Walton AL Craig Worthington
1990 NL David Justice AL Sandy Alomar
1991 NL Jeff Bagwell AL Chuck Knoblauch
1992 NL Eric Karros AL Pat Listach 
1993 NL Mike Piazza AL Tim Salmon
1994 NL Raul Mondesi AL Bob Hamelin
1995 NL Chipper Jones AL Garret Anderson
1996 NL Jason Kendall AL Derek Jeter
1997 NL Scott Rolen AL Nomar Garciaparra
1998 NL Todd Helton AL Ben Grieve
1999 NL Preston Wilson AL Carlos Beltran
2000 NL Rafael Furcal AL Mark Quinn
2001 NL Albert Pujols AL Ichiro Suzuki
2002 NL Brad Wilkerson AL Eric Hinske
2003 NL Scott Podsednik AL Jody Gerut

Replaced by the TSN Rookie of the Year award.


Total Baseball: The Ultimate Baseball Encyclopedia by John Thorn, et al.
2006 ESPN Baseball Encyclopedia by Gary Gillette (Editor), Pete Palmer (Editor).

Share Your Memories!

Our sites have always been by you and about you. If you check our TV Forums or our Technology & Science forums, you'll find literally thousands of messages from fans of 1970s TV shows, survivors of hurricanes or aircraft accidents, etc. from all over the world sharing their memories, asking questions, making comments. Our baseball section is new, but don't let that stop you from sharing your memories of the first game you went to, your favorite player, a now-forgotten stadium, etc. Of course you can also ask questions, post trivia, tell the world what you think of Barry Bonds, or just read what others are saying.

--Patrick Mondout



Although fellow 2B Steve Sax was an All-Star and won the BBWAA Rookie of the Year, it was Johnny Ray (pictured) who won TSN's Rookie Player of the Year.

Photo by Lou Sauritch, 2006

Baseball Collectibles!
Baseball Memorabilia!
Baseball cards!
Baseball Tickets!
Baseball Jerseys & Apparel!
Game Used Memorabilia!

Register on eBay for free today and start buying & selling with millions each week!

AS | Awards | Hall | Leaders | Leagues | Parks | People | Postseason | Seasons | Teams

Copyright 2004-2017, All Rights Reserved.
Use of this site is subject to our Terms of Service.
Privacy Statement

Logos and team names may be trademarks of their respective franchises or leagues. This site is not recognized, approved, sponsored by, or endorsed by Major League Baseball nor any sports league or team. Any marks, terms, or logos are used for editorial/identification purposes and are not claimed as belonging to this site or its owners.
Any statistical data provided courtesy of Retrosheet (see credits).